which american airlines aadvantage card to keep

This post is part of the series How To Redeem American Airlines AAdvantage Miles

Now that we’ve covered American Airlines award charts for flying on American Airlines own metal; let’s take a look at AAdvantage Award chart for Oneworld and partner airlines. There are a few key differences and points that you need to know when redeeming AAdvantage miles on Oneworld and partner airlines.


  • There’s is only one price per class of travel and that’s the MileSAAVER level. While that’s great for the low price, it means that you don’t have the flexibility of AAnytime awards. Below is a snapshot of AAdvantage Award Chart pricing for economy, business and first. (All prices are for one-way awards)

aadvantage award chart

  • Off peak pricing is not available on Oneworld and partner airlines awards except for Europe. 
    • January 10 – March 14, November 1 – December 14
  • Restrictions on routes used when flying to certain destinations.
    • If you’re flying to the Middle East or Europe, you’ll need to take transatlantic routes only.
    • If you’re flying to Asia or Australia, you’ll need to take transpacific routes only. For example, even though Etihad is a partner, they fly from the U.S. to Asia through Abu Dhabi which means they cross the Atlantic and not the Pacific. This means you can’t use Etihad for an award flight from the U.S. to Asia, you’ll have to use Cathay Pacific or Japan Airlines since they fly over the Pacific.
    • If you’re flying from the U.S. to the Indian Subcontinent, you need to take transatlantic routes. However, transpacific travel to the Indian Subcontinent permitted via Hong Kong only. Travel for the transpacific sector to Hong Kong is permitted only on Cathay Pacific or American Airlines. Travel from Hong Kong to the Indian Subcontinent permitted on Cathay Pacific, SriLankan and Jet Airways.
  • Region definitions are a lot more expansive on the AAdvantage Award chart for Oneworld and partner airlines.
Central America
  • Belize
  • Costa Rica
  • El Salvador
  • Guatamala
  • Honduras
  • Nicaragua
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua & Barbuda
  • Aruba
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Cayman Islands
  • Curacao
  • Dominica
  • Dominican Republic
  • Grenada
  • Guadeloupe
  • Haiti
  • Jamaica
  • Martinique
  • Puerto Rico
  • St. Kitts/Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Maarten
  • Trinidad/Tobago
  • Turks/Caicos Islands
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
South America Region 1
  • Bolivia
  • Colombia
  • Ecuador
  • Manaus (Brazil)
  • Peru
South America Region 2
  • Argentina
  • Brazil (excluding Manaus)
  • Chile (excluding Easter Island)
  • Falkland Islands
  • Paraguay
  • Uruguay
  • Venezuela
  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belarus
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Canary Islands
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Turkey
  • Ukraine
  • United Kingdom
Middle East
  • Bahrain
  • Egypt
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • Israel
  • Jordan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Oman
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates
Indian Subcontinent
  • Bangladesh
  • India
  • Kazakhstan
  • Maldives
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Turkmenistan
  • Uzbekistan
  • Algeria
  • Angola
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Ethiopia
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Mauritius
  • Melilla
  • Morocco
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Seychelles
  • South Africa
  • Sudan
  • Tanzania
  • Tunisia
  • Uganda
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe
Asia Region 1
  • Japan
  • Korea
Asia Region 2
  • Brunei
  • Cambodia
  • China
  • Hong Kong
  • Indonesia
  • Malaysia
  • Myanmar
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • Taiwan
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam
South Pacific
  • Australia
  • Easter Island
  • Fiji
  • French Polynesia
  • Guam
  • Kiribati
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Palau
  • New Caledonia
  • Republic of Tonga
  • Republic of Vanuatu
  • American Samoa and Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tuvalu

Keep in mind when booking Oneworld or Partner awards

I’ll get into details of how to search for awards on different airlines for different regions in another post. However, I want you to keep in mind that whatever award prices you see on other airlines when searching for awards doesn’t mean anything when you’re using AAdvantage miles. The prices you see in the above chart is what you’ll pay.

For example, when searching for Etihad Airlines awards on Etihad’s website, you’ll see the number of miles required. That’s the number of miles required if you’re paying with Etihad Guest miles. As you see below, you’ll need 88,654 Etihad Miles to book this business class one way flight. You should disregard this number since all you need is 70,000 AAdvantage miles to book this same award (amount needed for business class between the U.S. and the Middle East). You’ll have to call American Airlines at 800-882-8880 and give the agent the flight number EY103 and date 11/2/17 and you’ll only be charged 70.000 AAdvantage miles.

aadvantage award chart

Bottom Line:

When redeeming American Airlines miles for travel on Oneworld or partner airlines, keep in mind the routing rules mentioned above in order to pick the appropriate airline for your award. Stay tuned for future posts on how to redeem American Airlines Miles. In the meantime you can use my “Book Award Travel” form to get my help on your next award trip.

If you have any questions please comment below, tweet me @pointspointers or email me at pointspointers@gmail.com

Continue reading this series: